top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Katterjohn

VHS Distortion


This an abstract video art project that uses glitched VHS video edited digitally to form a cosmic experience.

For the project I used the medium that I seem to have used forever VHS to create the original video. I used digital captured VHS footage found distorted from recordings of my old local access show A/B switches. I always liked the look that these live switches made. I used a lot of keying to change the colors of the original distortions giving it a different look.


The audio is a multilayered distortion of techno sounds effects put together to create the experience. I also included the sound that LIGO rendered from gravitational Waves data and other NASA space sounds for an underline beat.


This is my flashback to the 1990s VHS look.




Photographs from class Final screening



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page