top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Katterjohn

Project Proposal

Updated: Aug 6, 2020

The End of VHS


This project will be an installation that will show the sadness and what has become of VHS. I would like to incorporate my VHS glitched video loops within this graveyard of old technology. I would like to find found footage of VCRs in landfills and junk yards. Would like to use eight CRT TVs spread out in what looks like a junkyard of old VCRs and VHS tapes giving the feel of a graveyard of sorts. I think this will build upon my previous works with VHS and be a project to show case the life of VHS. One unique feature that I want is an interactive feature that allows the viewer to choose what video is on the TVS by selecting different channel input on the switcher.


I want to play homage to the video installations of Nam June Paik or Mary Lucier. I found their TV installations to be my main influence on how I like video presented in this form.

I have gathered over the years several VCRs, analog TVs and a lot of VHS Tape so this will be the bases for this setup. I have the RF wiring or can make to fit what I need. The center for this installation will be two four channel video switchers that I have saved from the old school local access channel.


This will also spotlight a personal journey from a moment in time that sent me on this journey back to college in search of completion of my studies that I had started some thirty-five years ago. I was involved in an industrial accident where I was struck with a sludge hammer and had difficulties with understanding why I was still alive. So, I want this to be more than an end but showcase my beginnings and return to find meaning in art.


My only concern is to figure out how to play video to the switchers. I would like to use VHS on a six hour play but not all my VCRs will loop play at the end of the tape. They would need time to rewind and be restarted. I have look into a digital means to play the video back on small digital media players and hid them inside the VCR. Not sure how this will work. I will need to figure out how to make this convenient for the gallery to start for each viewing.





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page